Virtual Health and Care

Working Group Co-Chaired by:

Dr. Ann Aerts
Novartis Foundation
Dr. Tedros Adhanom-Ghebreyesus
Director General
World Health Organization
The COVID-19 pandemic generated unprecedented growth in digital technologies with internet usage rising globally by 70% at the height of the crisis. With billions of people forced to limit their movements and physical interactions, connectivity has enabled the possibility for family and friends to stay in touch, remote working and learning, as well as virtual access to healthcare.
In 2020, global investments in digital health increased by 103% compared to the previous year (from $10.6 billion in 2019 to $21.6 billion in 2020). The segment of virtual and AI driven care saw unprecedented adoption, and it is said in some countries, it made more progress in a few months than in the past ten years. Virtual services enabled patients to keep consulting and seeking advice from their doctors without the risk of spreading the virus or being contaminated. In France for example teleconsultation numbers went from an average of 40,000 per month to 4.5 million in April 20202. In China, Ping An Good Doctor registered growth in virtual consultations of +900% just in the month of January 2020. Amwell, a large telemedicine provider in the US also reported a growth of 2,000% between January and March 2020. 
Virtual health and care, paired with the use of data and AI, presents multiple benefits for improved patient care and population health.

1. The Group was launched during the Broadband Commission Virtual Annual Spring Meeting on March 22, 2021

  1. TBA


Broadband Commissioners

  1. Dr. Ann Aerts, The Novartis Foundation
  2. Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, Dr. Soumya Swaminathan, WHO
  3. H.E. President Paula Kagame, Republic of Rwanda
  4. Mr. Houlin Zhao, ITU
  5. Ms. Audrey Azoulay, UNESCO
  6. Dr. Carlos Jarque, America Movil
  7. Mr. Amir Dossal, Global Partnerships Forum
  8. Dato’Ir (Dr) Lee Yee Cheong, ISTIC
  9. Dr. Qu Dongyu, FAO
  10. Mr. Robert Kirkpatrick, UN Global Pulse
  11. H.E. Ms. Aurélie Adam-Soule Zoumarou, Benin
  12. H.E. Dr. Amani Abou-Zeid, African Union Commission
  13. Mr. Rajeev Suri, Inmarsat Plc
  14. Mr. Bocar Ba, SAMENA Telecommunications Council
  15. Mr. Makhtar Diop, IFC
  16. Mr. Lacina Kone, Smart Africa
  17. Mr. Stephane Richard, Orange
  18. Ms. Henrietta Fore, UNICEF

External Experts

  1. Ms. Isabelle Mauro, WEF
  2. Dr. Amandeep Gill, I-DAIR
  3. Mr. Dykki Settle, Ms. Skye Gilbert, PATH
  4. Dr. Ishrat Z. Husain, Ms. Adele Waugaman, USAID
  5. Dr. Joe Kvedar, Ms. Ann Mond Johnon, American Telemedicine Association
  6. Mr. Daniel Otzoy, Ms. Joseline Carias Galeano, Central American Health Informatics Network-RECAINSA
  7. Mr. Andres Martin, AXA
  8. Mr. Robert Metzke, Ms. Olesya Struk, Philips
  9. Dr. Alvin Marcelo, Mr. Jai Ganesh Udayasankaran, Asia eHealth & Information Network (AeHIN)
  10. Ms. Mathilde Forslund, Ms. Kirsten Mathieson, Transform Health
  11. Prof. Dr. Yunkap Kwankam, Mr. Frederic Lievens, ISFTeH
  12. Dr. Indira Joshi, NHSX (UK)
  13. Prof Dr. Antoine Geissbuhler, Prof. Dr. Cheick Oumar, Dr. Caroline Perrin-Franck, RAFT
  14. Mr. Siddharta Chaturvedi, Microsoft