Dato’ Ir. (Dr.) Lee Yee Cheong

Honorary Chairman, Governing Council, International Science Technology and Innovation Centre for South-South Cooperation

Academician Dato’ Ir. (Dr.) Lee Yee Cheong, BE Hons (Adelaide), Hon. Doc Eng (UNITEN), DPMP, KMN, AO,

Dato’ Lee is the Honorary Chairman, Governing Council, International Science Technology and Innovation Centre for South-South Cooperation under the auspices of UNESCO (ISTIC), Kuala Lumpur;  Member of the National Science and Research Council, Malaysia; Pro-Chancellor, Infrastructure University Kuala Lumpur; Chairman Global Council InterAcademy Partnership (IAP) Science Education Program; former Chairman of Governing Board, the Institute of Energy Policy and Research (IEPRe), Energy University Malaysia (UNITEN); Adjunct Professor of UNITEN; Advisor to MIGHT International; Member of Global Science Innovation Advisory Council (GSIAC); Vice Chairman, UN Sustainable Development Solution Network (SDSN) Malaysia; Patron of the International Young Professionals Foundation; former Member of the International Advisory Board of “Engineers Without Borders” Canada; Director of Malaysia Australia Foundation ; Member of International Committee, LAMAP Fondation France; Member of S&T Committee, CARICOM Science Foundation; Member of Jury, OECD DAC Innovation Prize.

He was President and now Distinguished Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Malaysia; Chairman and now Honorary President of Commonwealth Engineers Council (CEC); President of the World Federation of Engineering Organisations (WFEO) 2003-2005; He represented WFEO as Co-chair of the “International Science and Technology Community” Major Group of UN Commission on Sustainable Development 2000-2006 and attended UN World Summit on Sustainable Development Johannesburg 2002 and World Summit on Information Societies Tunis 2005. He was Co-chair of Task Force “Science, Technology and Innovation” of the United Nations Millennium Project 2002-2005;  Senior Advisor UN Global Alliance of ICT for Development (GAID) 2006-2010; former Member of the Board of Trustees of Engineers Against Poverty, U.K; Member of the International Commission for Education for Sustainable Development Practice, Earth Institute, Columbia University 2006-2008; former Member of International Advisory Board of Grand Challenges Canada and former Member of the National Economic and Social Council Kenya.

He served with the National Electricity Board, 1961-1979. He was project director of the real time computer controlled National Load Despatch Centre project. He then founded and was CEO of Tenaga Ewbank Preece and later KTA Tenaga 1980-2002. He became a Partner of Ewbank Preece Consulting Group, UK; He was a Board Director of UMW Holdings Berhad 2000-2008; and a Commissioner of the Energy Commission of Malaysia 2005-2009;

He is founding Secretary General and Senior Fellow of the Academy of Sciences Malaysia;  the founder President of the ASEAN Academy of Engineering and Technology; Foreign Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering; and a Corresponding Member of the Pan-American Academy of Engineering. He served as a founding Board member of the InterAcademy Council (IAC) of the world’s scientific academies 2001-2004. He served as Special Advisor to IAC Co-Chair on Sustainable Energy 2008-2009 and Advisor to the Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation Malaysia 2006-2007.

He was Co-author of the UN Millennium Project Science Technology and Innovation Task Force Study Report “Innovation: Applying Knowledge in Development”, 2005. He published his autobiography “Think Malaysia, Act Global” September 2010.

He was awarded the UN Office for South-South Cooperation 2014 Triangular Visionary Leadership Award; the Jiang YoungSil Grand International Science and Culture Prize, Korea; the Malaysian State Awards of DPMP and KMN for services to engineering and the Honorary Officer in the Order of Australia (AO).

Follow Dato’ Ir. (Dr.) Lee Yee Cheong: